Tuesday, 19 June 2018

Education innovators honoured at EduWeek Africa

Written by
James Green, Head of Global Business Development at Scanning Pens (left) and Pieter Labuschagne, Managing Director at Edit Microsystems (right), receiving the award on behalf of Edit Microsystems (Innovation Award winner).

EduWeek Africa, the largest and most recognised live education event in Sub-Saharan Africa, hosted its annual awards ceremony on 15 June 2018 at the Ticketpro Dome in Johannesburg. The theme of the exhibition was ‘Education 4.0 for Industry 4.0’, which addressed education’s response to increased automation and data exchange in most industries. EduWeek Africa celebrated all the innovators and service providers that are bridging the gap between education today, and the education of the future at the Education Industry Awards, in key partnership with Pearson South Africa.

Herewith a list of the categories of the nominated suppliers and/or distributors of the year, and an indication of the winners in each category:

1. Basic Education

1.1 Impaq
1.2 Snapplify
1.3 Edit Microsystems
1.4  OLICO Maths Education (Category winner).
1.5 Smart Choice 

2. TVET & Higher Education
2.1 FESTO (Category winner)
2.2 Snapplify
2.3 Christiani GmbH
2.4 Fundi 

3. Early Childhood Development
3.1 Edit Microsystems
3.2 Moves for Life
3.3 Missing Link
3.4 Mini Chess (Category winner)
3.5 Impaq 

4. Inclusive Education
4.1 Sensory Solutions
4.2 Edit Microsystems (Category winner)
4.3  EXOLab 

5.1 ICT
5.1 Parrot Products
5.2 RS Components
5.3 Veative
5.4 Xander (Category winner)
5.5 Edit Microsystems 

6. Innovation Award
6.1 Book for Every Child Foundation
6.2  Edit Microsystems (Category winner)
6.3  EXOLab
6.4  Veative 


7. NGO Impact of the Year
7.2  iSchoolAfrica Education Trust
7.3  ORT SA
7.4  Thanda
7.5  The Billion Child Foundation (Category winner)
7.6  Symphonia 

8. Institution Leader of the Year
8.1  Alan Whitaker, Founder & CEO, The Billion Child Foundation
8.2  Edward Mosuwe, Head of Department (Superintendent-General), Gauteng Department of Education  (Category winner)
8.3  Helen Louise Buhrs, CEO, Inscape Education Group (Pty) Ltd
8.4  Silas Moraila, Principal, Ngwanamatlang Secondary School8.5  Makhubedu, Principal, Diepsloot Secondary No3 

9. ICT Implementer of the Year
9.1  Dr. Candice Livingston, Cape Peninsula University of Technology 
9.2  Dr. Lynn Bowie (PhD Mathematics), Maths Coordinator at OLICO Maths Education (Category winner)
9.3  Dimakatso Sefora, HOD, Saron Primary school
9.4  Jason Fisher, Randfontein High School 

10. Inspiration Award
10.1 Kubeshini Govender, Chief Education Specialist, Western Cape Education Department
10.2 Alan Whitaker, CEO & Founder, The Billion Child Foundation
10.3 Khangelani W Sibiya, Maths and Science Teacher, Siphumelele Secondary School (Category winner)
10.4 Ashra Norton Norton, Director and Founder, The Leadership Colleges Shanette Tiquin, Principal, Carleton Jones High School
10.6 Thato Mfikwe, President, ISOC Gauteng Chapter 

Lifetime Achievement Award
11.1 Paul Colditz, CEO at FEDSAS (Category winner)
11.2 Alan Whitaker, CEO & Founder, The Billion Child Foundation
11.3 Dr Ali Adam, Chairperson and Founder, 2 Oceans Education Foundation 

Published in Science and Education