22 June 2016

Jeep Team’s Lewin amongst record-breakers at Scottburgh to Brighton Surfski race

Submitted by Viv Quann
Jeep Team’s Lewin amongst record-breakers at Scottburgh to Brighton Surfski race

22 JUNE 2016, SCOTTBURGH, DURBAN – Thursday, the 16th of June 2016, saw Jeep Team’s surfski paddler, Barry Lewin, and his racing partner, Lee Furby, amongst the first six boats to break the 46.5-km Scottburgh to Brighton Surfski race record, which was set in 1998, by some 16 minutes.

Lewin and Furby came in 3rd after a nail-biting sprint finish between winners, Matthew Bouman/Wade Krieger, and Luke Nesbit/Gene Prato. Officials were unable to make out a winner between Bouman/Krieger and Nesbit/Prato boats, and unanimously called the race a tie win.

Having initially not planned to participate in the race due to its length and level of difficulty, 3rd placed Lewin/Furby came into the race with less-than-desirable preparation, which slowed them down in the first 10km. According to Lewin, he was sore from gym sessions over the two previous days, which saw him take around 10km to loosen up.

Said Lewin, “No matter the results, surfski paddling, and specifically, downwind surfski paddling, was the winner. This was all due to the strong community around our sport and the great people I like to call my peers. Thank you, thank you and thank you to all involved in retaining the true essence of why we paddle.”

Lewin will be competing in the FNB Durban Downwind on the 25/26 of June. Some of the best surfski racers in the world will converge on Durban this weekend for the 2016 FNB Durban Downwind, setting the stage for another world-class duel as this World Surfski Series title event draws top elite ocean racers to Durban’s idyllic wintery conditions for this 26km clash.

With the backing of title sponsor, FNB, the event boasts a R40 000 prize purse across its various age categories and stands as Durban’s premier surfski event.

The format for 2016 will be a 26km race between La Mercy and Marine SLC with the course direction dependent on the wind direction on the day. The two-day window period allows organisers the best possible chance of the best conditions over the 25th and 26th June.

The singles and doubles races will take place simultaneously with the singles clash being the primary focus; however doubles are still welcome at the event.


  1. Matthew Bouman/Wade Krieger - 2:40:59
  2. Luke Nesbit/Gene Prato - 2:40:59
  3. Barry Lewin/Lee Furby - 2:46:42
  4. Brett Hadiaris /Thomas Lovemore - 2:47:43
  5. Zoog Haynes / Linton Hoper - 2:53:44
  6. Brett Bartho/Grant van der Walt - 2:56:18


For more information please contact Bronwen Blunden on 079 060 1905 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Published in Sports Range