16 July 2021

ACA announces incoming Board of Directors for 2021/2022 fiscal

Submitted by Veruska D'Onofrio
ACA announces incoming Board of Directors for 2021/2022 fiscal

Johannesburg, July 15th 2021 -The new Board of Directors of the Association for Communication and Advertising (ACA) for the 2021/2022 fiscal was announced at the association’s 74th Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 30th June 2021. The incoming Board is as follows:

Wayne Naidoo: Chair

Duke Advertising

Chief Executive Officer

Karabo Songo: Exco

The Brave Group 

Group Chief Executive Officer 

Mathe Okaba: Exco

Association for Communication & Advertising 

Chief Executive Officer

Monalisa Zwambila: Exco 

The Riverbed 

Chief Executive Officer 

Thabang Skwambane: Exco 

FCB Africa 

Group Managing Director 

Adeshia Singh (Cape Town Rep)

Singh & Sons 

Managing Director

Aileen Sauerman 

Duke Advertising 

Managing Director

Alison Deeb 

Metropolitan Republic 

Group Chief Executive Officer

Andrew Brand 


Chief Executive Officer 

Ayanda Mbanga 

Ayanda Mbanga Communications 

Chief Executive Officer 

Colett Naidu 

Wunderman Thompson SA 

Managing Director Integration

Enver Groenewald 

Ogilvy South Africa 

Chief Executive Officer

Gareth Leck

Joe Public United 

Group Chief Executive Officer

Graham Vivian 

Nahana Communications Group 

Chief Operating Officer

James Barty 

King James Group 

Group Chief Executive Officer

Jarred Cinman 

VML South Africa 

Chief Executive Officer

John Dixon 

Publicis Groupe Africa 

Chief Executive Officer

Karabo Denalane 

TBWA Hunt Lascaris Johannesburg

Chief Executive Officer 

Lebogang Sethole 

The Brave Group 

Human Capital Executive

Leo Manne 

Net#work BBDO 

Managing Director

Louise Johnston 

Grey Africa Advertising 

Managing Director

Luca Gallarelli 

TBWA South Africa

Group Chief Executive Officer

Mpume Ngobese 

Joe Public United

Co-Managing Director

Nombini Mehlomakulu 

Ebony + Ivory 


Sarah Dexter 

MullenLowe South Africa 

Chief Executive Officer 

Sharleen James 

King James Group 

Group Director

Wayne Naidoo who served as Chair in the 2019/20 and 2020/21 fiscals was re-elected to the position of Chair. The Executive Committee of the ACA now includes Wayne Naidoo, Thabang Skwambane, Karabo Songo, Monalisa Zwambila and ACA CEO, Mathe Okaba.

The Exco’s tenure runs in tandem with that of the Board of Directors, playing a key role in working closely with the Board of Directors in collectively directing the association’s affairs.

Wayne Naidoo opened the meeting by welcoming all attendees and followed with the 74th AGM Chairman’s Report for 2021. Noting that the past year has arguably been the most challenging period of our lives, gut feeling has allowed us to steer our way through these uncertain times. It is this intuition coupled with the remarkable collective leadership of the outgoing Board that undoubtedly made the organisation stronger and even more purposeful than ever before. He continued to say that in all of the years during which he has served on the ACA Board, he has never before seen the collective coming together of the leadership as has been the case in the past year and the resultant progress that was made across all portfolios and respective committees.

According to Naidoo, 2021 served up the ‘Brief of the Year’, and how faced with pressing issues and a mandate, that could have been conveniently ignored because of Covid, instead the ACA leadership stepped up and tackled it head on, creating magic, the highlights of which were:

  • The most transformed board in the history of the ACA in terms of gender and race
  • Transformation committee established to tackle key issues of diversity and empowerment
  • A new membership package introduced to cater for the broader industry  
  • A brand refresh 
  • MDDA funding: Securing of R3.4m in bursaries for Red & Yellow learners and a further R1m in post qualification funding for Women in Leadership
  • Inaugural Effie Awards South Africa launched to replace the Apex awards
  • A tighter and more collaborative industry working in synch to promote the value of offered by the ACA

“All of this would not have been possible without your injection of passion and the ownership that you applied so rigorously to your respective portfolios, along with your engaged contribution on the Board,” said Naidoo. He went on to thank the Exco and the Secretariat, and thanked the CEO for inspiring everyone to rise to the challenge and walk the talk with rigor.

A special mention was made to pay tribute to one of the ACA’s very own, Thandi Mhlongo, a colleague and friend who passed on suddenly on the 12th August 2020.

In closing the 74th AGM, Naidoo congratulated and thanked everyone again for the opportunity and honour to serve the industry.

-- ENDS --

The ACA is the official representative body for the Communications and Advertising profession in South Africa, representing agencies in the profession (who at present contribute approximately 95% of South Africa’s measured ad spend) to government, media and the public. The ACA is a voluntary body formed by and for the industry, focused on and committed to self-regulation and to defending the highest standards of ethical practice.

Prepared for:
The Association for Communication and Advertising
Mathe Okaba - CEO
(010) 880 3399

Editorial contact
Franco D’Onofrio
Twiga Communications
Telephone No: (082) 443 4410/ (011) 024 3983
Email Address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Published in Food & Beverages